Walmington on Sea Dad’s Army Map

From the quirky Dad’s Army Museum website

https://dadsarmythetford.org.uk

Image source: Wikipedia https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walmington-on-Sea

… this ‘labour of love’ mapmaking for somebody, making a whole fictional seaside town no doubt by piecing together the different tactical sketch maps that Captain Mainwaring draws in chalk on the black board for Home Guard exercises.

https://www.dadsarmy.co.uk

It is a great looking little Museum in Thetford with an interesting online shop, selling several interesting Dad’s Army books and a (scale?) model of Jones’ van.

Sadly it is on the other side of the country from me, so I won’t be visiting in person anytime soon.

Blog posted by Mark Man Of TIN, updated March 2023

Author: 26soldiersoftin

Hello I'm Mark Mr MIN, Man of TIN. Based in S.W. Britain, I'm a lifelong collector of "tiny men" and old toy soldiers, whether tin, lead or childhood vintage 1960s and 1970s plastic figures. I randomly collect all scales and periods and "imagi-nations" as well as lead civilians, farm and zoo animals. I enjoy the paint possibilities of cheap poundstore plastic figures as much as the patina of vintage metal figures. Befuddled by the maths of complex boardgames and wargames, I prefer the small scale skirmish simplicity of very early Donald Featherstone rules. To relax, I usually play solo games, often using hex boards. Gaming takes second place to making or convert my own gaming figures from polymer clay (Fimo), home-cast metal figures of many scales or plastic paint conversions. I also collect and game with vintage Peter Laing 15mm metal figures, wishing like many others that I had bought more in the 1980s ...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started